Shortcut to Body Shortcut to main menu

Feature Stories

• Home
  • Why KOREA
  • Feature Stories
One-on-One with Thomas Byrne
Date

Please introduce yourself including your professional experience

I am the President and CEO of The Korea Society, a New York City-based non-profit organization. I am also an adjunct professor at Columbia University and Georgetown University. Prior to joining The Korea Society in 2015, I was the Singapore-based regional Sovereign Risk Group manager for Asia-Pacific and the Middle East for Moody’s Investors Service, where I worked on the credit rating for the Republic of Korea, among other governments.

I have an MA in International Relations from The Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. Before starting my professional career, I served in the U.S. Peace Corps in Korea in a rural county for three years in the late-1970s. This was an amazing experience that immersed me in Korean culture and introduced me to the country’s remarkable economic development story from a first-hand, grass-roots perspective.

Please tell us about your future plans or ambitions as honorary ambassador

One of my ambitions as Honorary Ambassador is to employ the capabilities and network of The Korea Society to heighten awareness of the importance of long-term investment relations between Korea and the U.S. The mission of the Society since it was founded by General James A. Van Fleet in 1957 has been to promote awareness, understanding and cooperation between the people of Korea and America. This is just as relevant today, as it was more than six decades ago.