Shortcut to Body Shortcut to main menu

News & Event

  • Home
  • News
  • News & Event
Six S. Korean hosts set for 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup

According to Yonhap News,

(SEOUL=Yonhap News) FIFA announced on Friday six South Korean host cities for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

FIFA said the metropolitan cities of Incheon and Daejeon and the provincial cities of Cheonan, Jeju, Jeonju and Suwon will stage the world's premier youth football competition. The international football governing body also said the tournament will be held from May 20 to June 11.

Earlier this month, a team of FIFA inspectors toured nine South Korean candidate cities, examining their stadiums, practice facilities, accommodations and other infrastructure.

From the candidates, Seoul and Ulsan were eliminated. Pohang had withdrawn earlier, citing a lack of accommodations.

Of the six selected cities, all but Cheonan hosted matches during the 2002 FIFA World Cup, which South Korea co-hosted with Japan. Cheonan, located in South Chungcheong Province some 90 kilometers south of Seoul, is also the only city without a club in the top-flight K League Classic.

South Korea is the third country, along with Mexico and Japan, to have hosted all major FIFA men's tournaments, with the 2001 Confederations Cup, the 2002 World Cup and the 2007 U-17 World Cup.

The 2017 tournament will bring together 24 countries.

Copyrights Yonhap News. All Rights Reserved.

Source Text

Source: Yonhap News (Sept. 25, 2015)